Hare Krishna Mahamantra

हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण, कृष्ण कृष्ण हरे हरे || हरे राम हरे राम, राम राम हरे हरे||

Search within this blog

Places to visit in Mayapur Dham

1. Gaura Mandala Area

Gaura Mandala is over 200km in circumference, with the Ganges running through the centre. 
Mayapur - Gaura Mandala

It takes the form of a hundred-petaled lotus with Navadvipa as the hub. Navadvipa consists of nine (nava) islands (dvipa), each of the nine islands resembling an eight-petaled lotus flower. Antardvipa, the centre of the flower, has a circumference of 15km.
Mayapur - Gaura Mandala

The central point, situated within Navadvipa, is the Yogapitha, Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu’s birthplace. Navadvipa is considered to be a spiritual manifestation, for Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu performed his transcendental activities in this holy place.
Mayapur - Gaura Mandala

Each one of the nine islands of Nava-dvipa represents one of the nine processes of devotional service.
Mayapur - Gaura Mandala
The nine divisions are:
- Antardvipa, Shri Mayapur (surrendering everything)
- Simantadvipa, (hearing)
- Godrumadvipa, (chanting)
- Madhyadvipa, (remembering)
- Koladvipa, Navadvipa city (serving the lotus feet)
- Ritudvipa, (worshiping)
- Jahnudvipa, (praying)
- Modadruma-dvipa, (being a servant)
- Rudradvipa, (being a friend)

2. ISKCON Candradoya Mandir

Mayapur - ISKCON Candradoya Mandir

This is ISKCON’s international headquarters.

The largest temple to be built in India for 200 years is currently under construction here. When complete, the temple will be surrounded by its own city and will include a vedic planetarium. At present, there is a temple with Radha Madhava Deities. These Deities are full size. Next to them are eight gopis, four on either side. The Deities of Narasimhadeva and the Panca-tattva, (Advaita Acarya, Nityananda Prabhu, Lord Caitanya, Gadadhara Pandit, and Srivasa Pandit) can be seen here too.
Mayapur - ISKCON Candradoya Mandir

Mayapur - ISKCON Candradoya Mandir

3. Srila Prabhupada’s Puspa Samadhi

Buried here, under a murti (statue) of Srila Prabhupada, are the flowers (puspa) that he wore when he passed away in 1977. There is also an auditorium, a garden, a diorama exhibit, and a small lake in front of the samadhi.
Mayapur - Srila Prabhupada Pushp Samadhi

4. Shri Caitanya Mahaprabhu’s Birthplace

Mayapur - Shri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu Birthplace

Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu appeared under a tree. As a child he was known as Nimai. 
Mayapur - Shri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu Birthplace

A small house was built here and houses the Deities of Jagannath Misra and Sacidevi (Caitanya Mahaprabhu’s parents), together with baby Nimai. 
Mayapur - Shri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu Birthplace
There is a small temple dedicated to Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakur who was responsible for raising the money for building the original temple dedicated to Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. The main temple has a 30m high tower. Inside are the Deities of Radha Madhava and two Deities of Caitanya Mahaprabhu, on the left altar. On the central altar is Shri Caitanya and his two wives — Visnupriya and Laksmipriya.

5. Shri Srivasa Angan

Mayapur - Shri Srivasa Angan

Mayapur - Shri Srivasa Angan

Deities of Radha Krishna, Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu and Prabhu Nityananda can be seen here. Sri Caitanya and his associates used to have kirtan here all night long. This is also where Chand Kazi and his men broke the mridanga. Thus it is also called Khol Bhanga Danga, the place where the mrdanga was broken.
Mayapur - Shri Srivasa Angan

6. Shri Jagannath Mandir (Rajapur)

Mayapur - Jagannath Mandir Rajapur

Five hundred years ago, at the time of Lord Chaitanya, there lived a very wonderful devotee named Jagadish Ganguli. His residence was in a small village near Mayapur. Although he was advanced in age, every year he would go on the 900 kilometer journey to Jagannath Puri on foot to associate with his master Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, take darshan of his beloved Jagannatha, Baladeva and Subhadra Devi, and participate in the all-auspicious Ratha-yatra festival.
Mayapur - Jagannath Mandir Rajapur

7. Shri Chaitanya Math

Mayapur - Shri Chaitanya Math
This temple complex was founded by Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Maharaja, the Founder-acharya of the Gaudiya Math and is dedicated to Radha Govinda. Inside are four altars dedicated to the Vaisnavas acaryas: Sri Madhvacarya, Sri Visnuswami, Sri Nimbarka, and Sri Ramanujacarya.
Mayapur - Shri Chaitanya Math

8. Chand Kazi’s Samadhi

Mayapur - Chand Kazi Samadhi
During the time of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu, Chand Kazi was the Muslim magistrate of Navadvipa. He opposed the sankirtana movement, but was later converted; he then vowed that neither he nor his descendants would impede the movement again. A Champaka tree grows above his tomb. This tree growing along with a neem tree is said to be 500 years old.

9. Srila Bhakti Vinod Thakura’s House

Mayapur - Srila Bhakti Vinod Thakur House

Srila Bhakti Vinod Thakura lived here. It was here that he wrote Navadvipa-dhama-mahatmya, which describes the glories of Navadvipa-dhama. His Samadhi, along with Gaura Kisora Dasa Babaji’s bhajan kutir can be seen here.

Also see beautiful pictures of baby Krishna:

*** Hare Krishna ***