Hare Krishna Mahamantra

हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण, कृष्ण कृष्ण हरे हरे || हरे राम हरे राम, राम राम हरे हरे||

Search within this blog

Ashta Siddhis (supernatural powers) - From Srimad Bhagavatam

Srimad Bhagavatam Canto 11, Chapter 15 - Mystical Perfection: The Siddhis

Siddhi can be translated as perfection or accomplishment. All religions accept the phenomenon of supernatural powers.

Eight main powers (Ashta Siddhis) acquired by a spiritual person as listed in the scriptures are Aṇimā, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prāpti, Prākāmya, Iṣiṭva, Vaśitva. There are other lists of such powers too, however these are the most discussed yogic powers.
Yogi doing austerity for getting siddhi

Ashta Siddhis (supernatural powers) are:

1. Animā:
Ability to reduce the size of the body, sometimes even to the size of the atoms.  ('Becoming smaller than the smallest' as described in Srimad Bhagavatam by Lord Krishna)
- Hanuman had reduced the size of his body while he was searching for Sita in Lanka.

2. Mahima:
Ability to assume a gigantic form ('Becoming larger than the largest' as described in Srimad Bhagavatam by Lord Krishna)
- Hanuman assumed a huge form to burn Lanka, he also assumed big form to fight Kumbha Karna
- In Vaamana avatar Lord Vishnu increased his form which was so gigantic that it only took him three steps to cover all three worlds

3. Garima
Ability to become very heavy in weight by will
- Hanuman made his tail very heavy that even Bhima couldn't lift it (Bhima who was climbing the GandhaMadana mountains to get Saugandhika flowers for Draupadi was stopped by a monkey whose tail was on the way, Bhima orders the monkey to take the tail off the road, monkey being old tells him to move it himself, but Bhima couldn't even lift the monkey's tail)

4. Laghima
Laghima comes from the word laghu, which means small or light. Laghima is the ability to make the body very light ('Becoming lighter than the lightest'). Levitation and flying in the air are its subsidiary powers

5. Praapti
Word praapti means 'to obtain', 'having obtained', 'to have got'. Thus praapti is the ability to acquire anything anywhere.

6. Praakaamya
The ability to obtain anything desired, ability to have realized the dreams

7. Isitva
Isa=lord; isitva=lordship; The power of absolute lordship over entire creation

8. Vashitva
The ability to have everything under control, especially the physical manifestation made up of five elements

Mention about Ashta Siddhis and  Nava Nidhis comes in Hanuman Chalisa also 

Verse 31:
Ashta siddhi nava nidhi ke dātā, asa bara dīnha jānakī mātā

That means, Mother Sita granted you a boon to become the bestower of 8 Siddhis (supernatural powers) and 9 Nidhis (divine treasures)
Hanuman - Owner of Ashta Siddhi and Nav Nidhi

Ashta Siddhis (Eight Supernatural powers) - as also given above:

1. Aṇimā: Ability to reduce one's size
2. Mahima: Ability to increase one's size
3. Garima: Ability to increase one's weight infinitely
4. Laghima: Ability to become lighter than the lightest
5. Prāpti: Ability to obtain anything
6. Prākāmya: Ability to acquire anything desired
7. Iṣiṭva: Lordship over creation
8. Vaśitva: Having control over things

Nav Nidhis (Nine Treasures) are:

1. Mahapadma: Great lotus flower
2. Padma: Lotus / a Himalayan lake with treasures
3. Shankha: Conch shell
4. Makara: Crocodile/ Antimony
5. Kachchhapa: Tortoise or turtle shell
6. Mukunda: Cinnabar/ Quick Silver
7. Kunda: Jasmine/ Arsenic
8. Nila: Sapphire/ Antimony
9. Kharva: Cups, vessels baked in fire

Also read a post on Guru’s Love to his Disciple:

*** Hare Krishna ***